Home > News > Babergh coalition agreement is reached

Babergh coalition agreement is reached

Posted by on 22 May 2023 | Comments

A coalition has been agreed between Green, Independent and Liberal Democrat councillors to form a new administration at Babergh District Council.

No party achieved an overall majority in the May 4 elections.

However, the three groups have now agreed to work together in the best interests of residents over the next four years, providing a stable administration.

Cllr Leigh Jamieson, Green group leader, said:

We are pleased to have reached this point after lengthy discussions, and while a Green administration would have been our preferred choice, this coalition is currently the best way forward for the council and the residents we serve given the political make up of the council. We look forward to this collaborative approach delivering real benefits to our communities, and can’t wait to get started.”

Cllr Stephen Plumb, Independent group leader, said:

An agreement has been reached. We must now work together to ensure our residents have an effective administration."

Cllr Lee Parker, Liberal Democrat group leader, said:

The three groups will meet regularly to discuss and agree policy positions, and at all times we’ll be putting the interests of our residents first. We’re excited to see what we can achieve.”

The Green Party, which won most seats in the election, will provide a leader for the second and fourth years of this council term.

The Liberal Democrats will put forward the leader for the first year of the coalition at the Annual Council Meeting on Tuesday May 23. The Independents will lead the third year.

Under the terms of the agreement, the two deputy leaders will always come from the coalition groups not holding the role of council leader.

A cabinet of eight councillors will be appointed from across the coalition parties. The political balance of this will be four Green, three Independent and one Liberal Democrat.

The Greens, Independents and Liberal Democrats will work collaboratively to agree policy positions but remain separate groups.

The Annual Council Meeting takes place on Tuesday, May 23, starting at 5.30pm, and will be livestreamed on the Babergh District Council YouTube channel.