Skip to main content
click for the homepage
mobile menu button

Contact Us

apply 2


report 2


pay 2


Home > Planning > Planning Policy > Ipswich Policy Area

Ipswich Policy Area

The Ipswich Policy Area (IPA) refers to an area of geography which includes the urban area of Ipswich Borough Council and those local communities that have a close functional relationship with Ipswich but fall within the administrative district boundaries of Babergh, Mid Suffolk and Suffolk Coastal. It has long be recognised as an area where cross boundary planning and cooperation take places between the relevant local authorities.

An IPA Board consisting of councillors and officers from Babergh, Mid Suffolk and Suffolk Coastal District Councils, Ipswich Borough Council and Suffolk County Council is a key decision making group for cross boundary planning in the IPA.  The IPA Board has been in existence and has been meeting to ensure joint working on planning and growth for several years.

The terms of reference of the IPA Board have been approved by each member authority and these can be viewed by using this link to Ipswich borough Council’s website (alongside other information regarding Ipswich Policy Area and the IPA Board:

Ipswich Policy Area