Home > The Council > Chairman of the Council

Chairman of the Council

At Babergh and Mid Suffolk District Councils, the Chairman of the Council is elected in May each year.

The role of the Chairman is to provide civic and ceremonial leadership, by attending various functions on behalf of their Council.

The Chairman also chairs and manages the meetings of Full Council and ensures that the Council's Constitution is upheld.

Once elected, the Chairman rises above party politics in chairing meetings of Full Council. They act as the Council's representative at formal (and less formal) public engagements during their year in office.

The Chairman wears a chain of office when carrying out most duties but unlike a Mayor, does not have any formal robes.

Full Council also elects the Vice Chairman of the Council in May of each year. The Vice Chairman, in the absence of the Chairman, takes on a full deputising role.


The current office holders are:

BDC Chairman Councillor GrandonCouncillor Kathryn Grandon, Babergh District Council Chairman

The Babergh Chairman's chosen charity for 2022-23 is The Blossom Appeal

BDC Vice Chairman Councillor DavisCouncillor Derek Davis, Babergh District Council Vice Chairman


MSDC Chairman Councillor CastonCouncillor James Caston, Mid Suffolk District Council Chairman

The Mid Suffolk Chairman's chosen charity for 2022-23 is Stowmarket ASD Saturday Clubs

MSDC Vice Chairman Councillor EkpenyongCouncillor Paul Ekpenyong, Mid Suffolk District Council Vice Chairman


How to contact the Civic Office

If you would like to contact either Chairman or invite them to an event, please contact:

Civic Officer
Mobile: 07860 829509